Posted November 28, 2022

Beginning December 14, 2022, there will be a vacancy on the Spanish Fork City Council. The vacancy is created due to Brandon Gordon's election as a County Commissioner. The term will last until the winning candidates from the 2023 Municipal Election are sworn in on January 2, 2024.

Individuals interested in serving the remainder of Brandon Gordon's unexpired term should submit their names, in person, to Tara Silver, City Recorder, during regular business hours of 8 am to 5 pm, at 40 S Main Street, room 130. When you come, plan to fill out an application. You may also submit a one-page statement to the City Council to be considered with your application. You can submit your name, application, and an optional one-page statement for consideration on December 1st, 2nd, 5th, 6th, & 7th by 5:00 p.m., Mountain Time.

The City Council will hold a special meeting to select the person to fill the vacancy on December 14th, at 3:30 p.m., at the Spanish Fork City Hall located at 40 S Main Street, Spanish Fork, Utah. Applicants are required to attend this meeting.

Applicants must meet the requirements of candidates set forth in Utah law. These include the following:

  • Be a United States citizen. UCA § 20A-9-201(1)(a).
  • Be a registered voter in the City of Spanish Fork. UCA § 20A-9-203(1)(a).
  • Have resided within the City of Spanish Fork for 12 consecutive months. UCA § 20A-9-203(1)(b)(i).
  • In accordance with Utah Constitution Article IV, Section 6, be not mentally incompetent, convicted of a felony, or convicted of treason or a crime against the elective franchise. UCA §10A-9-203(2)(c).
  • Agree to maintain your principal place of residence within the boundaries of Spanish Fork City during the term of office. UCA § 10-3-301(5)(a).
  • Agree to not be absent from the City for a continuous period of more than 60 days without the consent of the City Council. UCA § 10-3-301(5)(b), (6).

The following individuals have applied to fill the vacancy:
  • Angela Murphy

  • Mason Evans
  • Landon Tooke
  • Jacob Oaks
  • Whitney Hancock
  • Ana Keele
  • Jackie Larson
  • Paul Webb
  • Mark Warner
  • Pierre Guzman
  • John S. Chase
  • Mike Clayson
  • Jesse Cardon
  • Steven Carlson
  • Bret Bills
  • Megan Johnson
  • Shelly Jamison
Updated 5:18 p.m. Dec. 7, 2022